One month down!

So I have officially been in Chicago for a month now and its been a wild and crazy ride. While I have yet to still start my placement, I’ve been exploring the city and the community that I will be living in and serving for the next 11 months. I’ve been placed at an after school organization known as BREAKTHROUGH and I will be helping with the 1st through 3rd graders. The program is in the neighborhood of East Garfield Park and I am very excited not only to live in this community but also to serve this community. I’m excited to see what is about to happen at BREAKTHROUGH.

This year at BREAKTHROUGH I’m expecting to learn a lot from this program. I have a lot of love for working with kids and I really hope to learn what a good teacher and a role model looks like I hope that throughout this program I can inspire someone to want to do something amazing and also they inspire me to want to keep inspiring others to follow dreams. I want to be able to affect change in these kids lives wether it’s supporting them in a dream that they have or just simply helping them with homework. I just hope for the best this year as I enter this program. I know I will meet amazing people that want what I want for these kids; to reach for the stars.

As I go through this year, a lot of questions race through my mind; Where will God show up? How will he show up? How will I deal with conflict when it arises? How am I going to react to things being away from home for the first time on my own? For all of these questions I have no answer which reminds me of Proverbs 3:5-6 “Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.” Though I don’t have any answers I know that as long as I put my trust in Him and stay on the path that he has put me on he will show up and do great things. I will lean on Him and know that what comes next will all be apart of his plan for my year of service. I can’t wait to see what he has in-store for me.

20151005_143134

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One month down!

  1. What a great opportunity you have to learn about yourself! I pray God’s leading as you start this new path in your journey.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

